FORT VERMILION SCHOOL DIVISION MINUTES OF THE ORGANIZATIONAL BOARD MEETING OCTOBER 23, 2024

ATTENDANCE

Board Members Present:

Mr. Marc Beland, Board Chair Mr. Tim Driedger, Board Vice Chair

Mr. Shane Lloyd Mr. Henry Goertzen Mrs. Amanda Paul Mr. Benjamin Friesen Mr. John Zacharias

Board Members Absent:

Mrs. Linda Kowal

Administration Present:

Mr. Michael McMann, Superintendent

Mr. Terry Gibson, Associate Superintendent of Operations Mrs. Karen Smith, Associate Superintendent of Careers Mrs. Natalie Morris, Associate Superintendent of Learning Mr. Norman Buhler, Associate Superintendent of Finance

Mrs. Darlene Bergen, Executive Assistant

Ms. Chandra Tincombe, Public Engagement Coordinator

ATA:

Mr. Fred Kirby, President

CALL TO ORDER

Chairman, Marc Beland, called the meeting to order at 3:25 p.m.

24-10-17223 ELECTION OF VICE CHAIR Chairman, Marc Beland, called for nominations for the position of Vice-Chair of the Fort Vermilion School Division for the period October 23, 2024, to October 2025.

First call: John Zacharias nominated Tim Driedger. Accepted.

Second call: None. Third call: None.

There being no further nominations, Benjamin Friesen declared that nominations cease.

Tim Driedger was declared acclaimed as Vice-Chair of the Board of Trustees of the Fort Vermilion School Division for the 2024-2025 term.

CARRIED

FORT VERMILION SCHOOL DIVISION MINUTES OF THE ORGANIZATIONAL BOARD MEETING OCTOBER 23, 2024

PAGE 2 OF 2

24-10-17224 ESTABLISHMENT OF REPRESENTATIVES Tim Driedger moved that the following trustees be appointed as representatives on the various associations/councils for the period October 23, 2024, to October 2025.

Alberta School Boards Association Zone 1 – Henry Goertzen
Fort Vermilion Community Education Committee – Amanda Paul
Negotiation Committee – Benjamin Friesen and Shane Lloyd
Teachers' Employer Bargaining Association – Marc Beland
Audit Committee – Marc Beland, John Zacharias and Tim Driedger
CARRIED

24-10-17225 ESTABLISHMENT OF BOARD MEETING DATES Shane Lloyd moved that the Board of Trustees establish the Board Meeting dates for the 2024-2025 school year as follows:

September 23, 2024 October 23, 2024 November 27, 2024 January 22, 2025 March 26, 2025 April 16, 2025 May 21, 2025 June 11, 2025

CARRIED

24-10-17226 ATB FINANCIAL SIGNING AUTHORITY

Amanda Paul moved that the Board of Trustees give the following individuals signing authority on ATB Financial accounts with a two to sign requirement effective October 23, 2024:

Michael McMann - Superintendent

Norman Buhler – Associate Superintendent of Finance

Payne Cardinal - Director of Finance

Karen Smith - Associate Superintendent of Careers Natalie Morris - Associate Superintendent of Learning Terrence Gibson - Associate Superintendent of Operations

Marc Beland - Board Chair Tim Driedger - Vice Chair

CARRIED

24-10-17227 ADJOURNMENT Marc Beland moved that the organizational meeting be adjourned at 3:32 p.m.

CARRIED

(original signed)(original signed)Board ChairAssociate Superintendent of

Finance